Skip to main content

Ulverton Woolen Mill

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Date Founded: 
1982
Mission: 

medium_ulverton2.jpgThe largest textile interpretation centre in Canada, the Ulverton Woolen Mill (formerly known as the Blanchette Mill) was recognized in 1977 as a historic monument by Quebec's Ministry of Cultural Affairs. Fully restored in 1982, the mill was built in 1850, during a period of heavy Scottish immigration to the region. It is the only one of its kind still to contain a complete and fully operational set of wool processing machinery dating to the early 20th century, as well as one of the oldest (and still operational) turbines in Canada. Today, the mill's new vocation is to let visitors discover the industrial and craft production and processing methods of wool.

Physical Description: 

a) Ulverton Woolen Mill (1850).
b) Grounds. 5 km of paths. Rest areas. Picnic tables.
c) Covered bridge (1994), adjacent to the Mill.

Collections: 

Antique wool-processing machinery. Artifacts related to wool and textile production.

Special Activities: 

medium_ulverton1.jpgGuided tour of the permanent exhibition. Video presentation of the restoration of the mill. 5 km of trails. Restaurant. Boutique.

Publications: 

Le moulin à laine d'Ulverton (2000): $8.95.

Business Hours: 

Open mid-May to mid-October.

Fees: 

Please inquire.

Languages:

English
French
Address: 

210 ch. Porter, Ulverton, QC, J0B 2B0.

View Larger Map

Telephone: 
(819) 826-3157
Fax: 
(819) 826-6266