Skip to main content

St.-Jacques-De-Leeds Historic Site (Corporation du patrimoine du Canton de Leeds)

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Date Founded: 
1990
Mission: 

medium_leeds2.jpgManagement of the historic site of Saint-Jacques-de-Leeds, the oldest Anglican site on the south shore of Quebec City, and the oldest heritage site in the Thetford Mines region. The preservation and promotion of the (mainly Anglo-Protestant) heritage and history of Leeds Township, and of the Craig and Gosford Roads.

Physical Description: 

larger_stjacques.1.jpgSaint-Jacques-de-Leeds Historic Site
includes :
a) St. James Anglican Church (1831).
b) Alexander Rectory (1837).
c) Model School (1896), which has been transformed into a theatre and reception area.
d) Anglican, Methodist, and Presbyterean cemeteries.
e) Walking trails.

Collections: 

Publications on local history. Artifacts (furniture, farm tools, shoe-making equipment; etc.).

Special Activities: 

Guided tours throughout the tourist season, with guides and animation in 19th century costume, offering visitors a chance to discover the many facets of our heritage and culture, notably our music, dance and legends during La Nuit des Légendes (Night of Legends).

Square dances.

The Leeds Model School is available for rental for special events and parties.

Publications: 

N/A.

Business Hours: 

Summer months only. Please inquire.

Fees: 

Please inquire.

Languages:

English
French
Address: 

230 Principale Street, Saint-Jacques-de-Leeds, QC G0N 1J0.

View Larger Map

Telephone: 
(418) 424-0238
Website: 
http://